Dapple or Double Dapple?

Lexi'sMom

I'm not a breeder and I did not bring my Lexi into my life just because of her good looks. At 9-months old, she's a handful and a commitment I made sure I was ready for, first. I did read up on dappling in doxies and I am 99% positive that Lexi is a (surprisingly) healthy double dapple. I need to be sure so I can change her AKC registration. I'm sure that the breeder was even unaware of this when I came to get her at 10 weeks old. I'm far from an expert but I'd love to hear from anyone knowledgeable on the subject. For the record - Lexi was spayed at 16 weeks and going to live a spoiled, happy life without heats and babies with me...

sherlock

Is that Lexi in your avatar? If so, she looks like a single dapple. I thought the same thing about Watson because both of his parents are dapple, so I thought that made him a double. The problem is when they get the dapple gene from both parents (so the parent genes would be Dd. If the puppy gets DD (or dd, I don't know which is considered dominant/recessive), they would be double, but many pups will just end up Dd as well - single dapple.) Double dapples will have large areas of white on their bodies, and will often have blue eyes, and they can sometimes be deaf or blind.

Just based on what I can see in the photo, though, she looks like a single dapple girl that just has lots of silver dappling.

Do you know anything about her parents and if they were both dapples?

Lexi'sMom

Double Dapple Reply

Lexi has one blue eye and her brown eye has blue flecks in it. She also has patches of white on her back feet and chest, along with isabella/chocolate dappling on her head and ears in combination with the black/silver dapple. The image of her in my avatar doesn't do her justice... :) Both parents were dapples...

Penny

If all the white she has is on her back feet and chest, she is not a double dapple.
Sometimes solid colored dogs that carry the pie gene show a bit of white just like that.