Back pain question...

NV1985

Hi, I'm new here. This is my first time owning Dachshunds. We took two in from a rescue. (Originally visited the foster to meet the mom, and saw she had a dapple pup and took both of them).

Katie is around 3 yrs old (via rescue) and she just recently started acting very odd. She seems like she's 3 going on 13. She walks stiff, and sometimes she will whimper or yelp when you pet or touch her. Within this last week she seems to not want to move at all. She does, only because she follows me everywhere, but I've picked up and placed her on the bed...instead of getting snuggly under the covers like usual, she lays where I place her and doesn't move. I mean at all. She will be in the same position for like an hour. At one point I was trying to see what was wrong and she was just super stiff. Like she was upright and you could lean her over and she wouldn't move her legs or head, and just kind of fall over. :(

YET on other days its like bam she's fine. Tail up, barking, walking on the back of our couch (seems to be one of her favorite things). And doesn't seem to be bothered at all. And these extremes can be seen in a 24 hr period. Like I said, lately she seems to worse off and really not acting her self or very active. (except for a few odd days). I took her to the vet, and of course the day of her appt she's acting fine and the vet couldn't find anything wrong with her (did not do x-rays). She does suspect that it is her back, especially considering her breed. I was sent home with some pain relievers and steroids, and told to keep her rested and that I should put stairs or ramps up for her to prevent any possible further injury.

I looked up back pain online, and everything I find is extreme. (dogs become paralyzed and needing surgery)....

Has anyone had their doxie show similar symptoms to mine? Or your doxie get a back injury that was not extreme and solved with just some rest?

Picture of my two pups

markus1142

Sounds like IVDD