Any ideas?

My two year old dog, was attacked when she was just a puppy.(we have 2 doxies) Now when a strange dog comes by she cry's like she is being bit and is afraid. How do I break her of this?

squish13

I'm not an expert, but I know Cesar does it on a reward type basis...

So bring another unfamiliar dog out that you know won't hurt her, at a bit of a distance and before she starts crying, give her a treat or favourite toy as the dog is nearby. Then she associates seeing the dog with an "okay" or "happy" time.

MatthewLP

Sorry to hear this. always a traumatic event when somthing like this happens.

If you would could you give me more information. How old was you doxie when bitten? 2 3 or 4 months old? Doxies go though a fearful stage when they are 4 months or so of age. There whole world is comming into focus around this time and sight, smells, and experences can imprinted on them.

Is there any submissive Pee'ing involved, or does she role on her back while crying? any tail tucking and running?

Confidence or lack there of is going to be the problem. Can it be restored?.....absolutely. However confidence, reassurance and trust are not easily gained once taken. Retraining back from being a puppy is where you need to start again. push with kind, secure and safe 'exposure'. She has to understand she has too and then wants too.

If she is able to be on a leash around other dogs, Walk up to where she is close enough to feel "slight anxiety" or what I call safe exposure but not scared or fightened. Make her sit or just stand their for awhile to where she is calm, relaxed and at ease. Walk away and try the exposure again. Should you get to close where she panics, turn the dog around and walk away. Giver her confidence by always saying good girl. When calm and relaxed.... try again.